(Un)natural Art

Before I commence this blog’s 11 arbitrarily timed post, I wanted to point out a rather intriguing trend in the development of said blog. A little background first; you must realize I am a bit of a nerd, which I have stated in previous posts, but a lot of my self proclaimed nerditude stems from an obsession with statistics (as well as making up words) (and linking topast blog posts). Regardless, WordPress conveniently satiates my healthy addiction with a section titled “Site Stats” which conveniently compiles data regarding YOUR behavior. Creepy huh? So I have a few interesting facts to share with you, about you.

1. Too many people read my blog. Especially on weekdays. Mondays are by far the most popular days, even though most of my posts roll out on Thursday or Friday, with weekends dipping a few standard deviations below the mean. So in other words, get back to work.

2. My most overrated post, by far:
That’s it. I’ve had it with this dump! We’ve got no food, we got no jobs,… our pets’ HEADS ARE FALLIN’ OFF!!!
2a. This is my currently my third most popular post. You do realize it centers around quotes from a Jim Carey/Jeff Daniels movie right?
2b. This is easily my most searched for post. BTW, these are searches conducted through WordPress.com

3. Monday, August 9, 2010 was a sad day for all. 99 views to my blog, a record high.

Ok, back on track. I wanted to share some incredible art, and point out the dichotomy of the two types of which I’ve been able to witness during my time in Fort Collins so far.

Natural
This past weekend, mom and pops came into town, which allowed for an opportunity to do the touristy things I had been putting off for a few weeks. Our trip to Estes Park, and Rocky Mountain National Park was pretty awesome, with some incredible views.

Horsetooth Resovoir


Just some elk, chillin

Emerald Lake

Unnatural
Working this week in the warehouse has been pretty interesting, and aside from the copious amounts of beer, everywhere, the most eye catching thing is the graffiti on our rail-cars (we ship a few loads by rail per week on our “choo-choos”). Pretty impressive stuff.

Pink and Green, someone studied their color wheel

Pink and Green, someone studied their color wheel

What's with all the skulls? Relax angry teens

Van Gogh-esque

Benedict? Someone needs to go to church

Benedict? Someone needs to go to church

So CRAY!

So CRAY!

Do Epic Stuff

All in all, pretty cool stuff. Some people have some apparent angst toward rail transportation; nothing that can’t be cured with a little spray paint and creativity.

Until next time, drink Budweiser and read my blog. According to my statistical analysis, most of you have been doing a lot of both at the same time.

This entry was posted in Not So Businessy and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to (Un)natural Art

  1. PJ says:

    Touristy stuff and free meals…that’s what moms and pops are all about!

  2. Jack Rabun says:

    The grafetti is reminiscent of a certain portrait of Dennis Rodman. Also the “insides of a roach”. Just sayin!
    Grandma

  3. a.d. whittington, jr says:

    I too am a grafitti observer.
    Just this year good sitings in SA and Italy,
    a little in Norway. Get ready for cold weather.
    Are we nervous or confident about BC.

Leave a Reply

